Apr 19, 2011

Little kindnesses

Have you read The Five Love Languages by Gary Chapman?
Shawn and I read this even before we were married and my love languages are still the same, nearly 8 years later.

Here are the love languages: quality time, acts of service, words of affirmation, gifts, & physical touch. Want to know what your primary one(s) is? Click here for the quiz.

Gifts is my top love language followed closely by a tie between quality time and acts of service. I took the quiz today just to make sure they hadn't changed.

Here's what the website says about gifts (because I feel awful admitting that's something that makes me feel really, really special and loved...to me a gift can be the gift of time, or a sticky note on the mirror, or a Snickers, or a card; Shawn would be in trouble if he spent $60 on flowers!...).

Don’t mistake this love language for materialism; the receiver of gifts thrives on the love, thoughtfulness, and effort behind the gift. If you speak this language, the perfect gift or gesture shows that you are known, you are cared for, and you are prized above whatever was sacrificed to bring the gift to you. A missed birthday, anniversary, or a hasty, thoughtless gift would be disastrous–so would the absence of everyday gestures.

Perhaps this is why Christmas stresses me out? I always have to find the "perfect" gift for someone else even if it's not their preferred love language.

So where am I going with this? I think love languages also spill over into our friendships. So when two sweet kindnesses graced my life during the last two weeks, I have to share about it!
beautiful garden flowers from my friend
adorable hand-made sign for the front door, from my friend

Lastly, if you were to stop by my kitchen on this Tuesday you'd see that I'm whipping up some Easter goodies:


CaseyWiegand said...

ahhhh im obsessed with that book!!!!!!!!!!

Jenae said...

I love this book! And I've started to notice the "love languages" of my kids as well...Caleb is a physical touch kid. He loves to get and give hugs and kisses.

TK said...

Mine is gifts (I seem to get more out of the giving though & spend an inordinate amount of time over cards) and quality Time!!!! Shaun's is Acts of Service.... and my M's...not sure but quality time seems prevalent...hugs to you, thats my gift for you today!! TK xx

Michelle said...

I just took the test and my love language is physical touch. Although I scored low on the gifts, I have to say that I really enjoy giving gifts. It is a way I show love by being creative and thinking quite a bit about what someone might like. And it also brings me great joy to give to others!

breitenbach8 said...

you forgot my gift of facewash! j/k!
i love the nap signs for the door!
do you take custom orders for you hoop art?

katygirl said...

ok so i went and took the test and never came back to comment. i was like OFF the charts for quality time and then got like nothing for touch. which is exactly the opposite of scooter. cool.

Jenna said...

It's neat you re-read it. We did this last year with Sunday school and it was good to review it again. When we were dating I was words of affirmation, but now I'm definitely quality time. Derrick likes to joke that I have all five though!

hannah singer said...

this book is wonderful-we love it!
such a sweet friend, love that napping sign! xo

Jami said...

That napping sign is adorable! My love language is acts of service. My hubby taking out the trash before I have to ask sends me over the moon.